You will receive a certificate of completion by email 1-2 business days after graduation. Once you have received this email, print the certificate and bring it to the driver`s license office along with the other forms and documents required when you apply for your driver`s license. Joshua`s Law is the common name for Senate Bill 226, which requires formal driver training for all Georgian drivers under the age of 18. This mandatory training includes both a driving literacy training course (which can be taken in class or online) and driver training (which can be taken as a parenting course or through a state-approved driving school in Georgia). Most teens in Georgia complete an ADAP course during their first year of high school as part of an exercise or health education course. If you did not live in Georgia during your first year of study or were absent when this course was taught, you may be able to take the eADAP course online. Visit www.dds.ga.gov/adap/ for more information. Yes, parents or guardians are eligible for a tax credit of up to $150.00 if their dependent minor successfully completes a course at a private driving school licensed by the DDS. A copy of the certificate of completion and proof of fees paid for the course are required to be eligible for the credit. The balance amount is equal to $150.00 or the amount actually paid, whichever is less.
Courses taken in private or public high schools are not eligible for this loan. Contact the Department of Finance for more information. Let`s take a look at the law of Joshua. We explain: Are you ready to take your driving courses required by the Joshua Law and hit the road? With Aceable, you can complete your 30-hour knowledge course online and even sign up for your drive-thru training! Aceable is proud to offer practical driving lessons at affordable prices. We want to help you hit the road quickly and safely. Register today! It is important to note that your driving courses in Georgia must be completed by a DDS approved driving school. Once your waiting period is over (or cancelled due to military service), you can take your driver`s license test and get your driver`s license in Georgia! Teen Driver Training – Senate Bill 226, also known as “Joshua`s Law,” requires 16- and 17-year-olds to do the following to obtain a driver`s license in Georgia: Yes, our 30-hour Georgia driver training course is approved in Georgia to meet the 30-hour driver training under Joshua`s Law. This training is mandatory for 16- and 17-year-olds seeking to obtain their first driver`s licence. You will also need to complete 40 hours of supervised driving training (which can be done with a parent or guardian). For more information, visit www.dds.georgia.gov or www.gateendrivereducation.dds.ga.gov on the Ministry of Driver Services website. Step 2, the intermediate license (class D license). 16-year-old drivers who have held a teaching license for 12 months and 1 day and have passed the state-administered comprehensive driving test on the road are eligible for this license.
There are several restrictions on this license, namely: For more information on Joshua`s legal requirements for 16- and 17-year-olds, as well as the methods available for graduation, see dds.georgia.gov/joshuas-law-requirements. Insurance companies offer discounts to students under the age of 25 who are pursuing education and driver training. However, you will need to check with your insurance company for a complete list of requirements to qualify for a discount. Joshua`s Act is a Georgia state law enacted in 2007 that changes driver`s license requirements for teen drivers.  A young driver must meet the new requirements to obtain a Georgian driver`s licence. The law was named after Joshua Brown, who died in an accident in 2003.  Joshua`s parents joined the legislature in enacting stricter driver training laws. The end result was the Teen and Adult Drivers Liability Act (TADRA), a law that requires teens to gain some driving experience and instruction before getting a license beyond learner approval. The law also introduced a tiered driver`s license system that imposed restrictions on the time of day and passengers on drivers aged 16 and 17.
Step 1, learning authorization (class CP license). May drive a category C vehicle if it is accompanied by a person who is at least 21 years of age and who holds a licence for a category C vehicle, who is capable of exercising control of the vehicle and who occupies a seat next to the driver.  You may think you can take your driving course and training and get your driver`s license in Georgia immediately. But not so fast. “Joshua`s Law” requires all 16-year-olds applying for a Class D driver`s licence to complete an approved driver training course AND complete a total of 40 hours of supervised driving, including 6 hours at night, with an affidavit from a parent or guardian attesting that these driving requirements have been met. Starting at 1. In July 2021, Joshua Law Driver Training will be added to the list of requirements that 17-year-olds will be required to meet before issuing a Class D driver`s licence. In addition, any 17-year-old Georgian who chooses to serve our country by enlisting in the U.S. military is eligible for a Class C driver`s license without holding a Class D driver`s license for one year (currently required for all youth under the age of 18); Proof of military conscription is required. Joshua`s Law is designed not only to protect underage drivers, but also to make roads safer through proper training, driver education, and supervised training. If you need help finding an approved driving course in Georgia, DriversEd.com offers state-approved training. In addition to preparing students for their exam, you are also eligible for certain insurance discounts once you have completed the required course and training.
You can complete the 40 hours of supervised driving with a parent using the Parent/Teen Driving Guide: www.eregulations.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/01/20GAPT-LR.pdf Assembly Bill 226, passed in Georgia in 2005, is more commonly referred to as Joshua`s Law. The law applies to those applying for a category D Georgian driving licence. This law is aimed at drivers who are 17 years of age and requires them to complete an approved 30-hour driving training. The law also requires drivers aged 17: A list of approved driver training programs can be found on the DDS website under www.dds.georgia.gov. Before taking a driving course, make sure the program has been approved by DDS. Georgia Driver Education Scholarship Program You must complete an approved driver training course at a certified private or public driving school using one of the following methods. Recognized courses are also offered online. In addition, you must complete each element in the method you choose.
40 hours of driving experience with a parent or guardian (six of which must be after dark) This online driving course meets the 30-hour classroom requirement of Joshua`s Law. We will report your completion of the program to the Georgia Department of Chauffeur Services (Georgia DDS) within 1-2 business days. We will also email you a copy of your certificate of completion within 2 business days. Simply print your certificate and bring it to Georgia DDS when you apply for your driver`s license. You are not eligible to apply for a Class D provisional licence until you have completed the course. “Remember that you`re responsible, so if you don`t feel your child is ready to drive, don`t let them,” he said, referring to parents monitoring their teen`s driving habits. Yes, a parent or guardian with a valid license or ID in Georgia must accompany you and sign before you can obtain a license.